The Roman Catholic Parish of

Woodbridge with Framlingham

Parish Boundaries

Parish Boundaries

Woodbridge and Framlingham Roman Catholic Parish is one of fifty parishes in the Diocese of East Anglia.  The parish covers an area of approximately two hundred and seventy square miles in the County of Suffolk. There are two churches in our parish, the church of Saint Thomas of Canterbury at Woodbridge and Saint Clare's church at Framlingham.

Some of the other towns and villages within the boundary of the parish include Hasketon, Grundisburgh, The Bealings (Great and Little), Martlesham Old Village including Beacon Hill, Clopton, Otley and Otley Bottom, Framsden, Helmingham, Crettingham, Brandeston, Moneden, Kettleburgh, Dallinghoo, Debach, Charsfield, Bredfield, Wickham Market, Parham, Hacheston, Marlesford, Little Glemham, Blaxhall, Tunstall, Sudbourne, Orford, Butley, Boyton, Hollesley and all the settlements south and west of the Rivers Alde and Ore, except Snape Maltings. 

The western boundary of the parish runs from Framsden to Peet's Corner then eastwards along the A1120, through Earl Soham to Saxsted Green and continues along the track of the old Roman Road to the point where this ancient road is crossed by the B1116 from Saxsted Bottom to Framlingham, north of Framlingham.  This is the nothernmost boundary of the parish. 
Melton, Ufford, Sutton, Eyke and Rendlesham are in the parish, and all the villages on the Bawdsey peninsula down to the ferry belong to the parish too, including Shottisham, Ramsholt, Alderton and Bawdsey.
To the south-east of Woodbridge town the following villages at the head of the Felixstowe peninsula are a part of the parish, that is those settlements to the North of Mill River: Waldringfield, Brightwell (part), Newbourne and Hemley, as far as the point where the Kirton Creek flows into the River Deben.
Orford Ness and Orford Beach, on the East side of the River Alde, belong to the Aldeburgh Parish.

Civil Parishes within the Parish of Woodbridge

& Framlingham:

  • Alderton
  • Bawdsey
  • Blaxhall
  • Boulge
  • Boyton
  • Bredfield
  • Brightwell (North of Mill River)
  • Bromeswell
  • Burgh
  • Butley
  • Campsea Ashe
  • Capel St. Andrew
  • Charsfield
  • Chillesford
  • Clopton
  • Cretingham
  • Dallinghoo
  • Debach
  • Earl Soham (part)
  • Easton
  • Eyke
  • Framlingham
  • Framsden
  • Gedgrave
  • Great Bealings
  • Grundisburgh
  • Hacheston (part)
  • Hasketon
  • Helmingham
  • Hemley
  • Hollesley
  • Hoo
  • Iken
  • Kettleburgh
  • Letheringham
  • Little Bealings (part)
  • Little Glemham
  • Marlesford
  • Martlesham
  • Melton
  • Monewden
  • Newborne
  • Orford
  • Otley
  • Parham (part)
  • Pettistree
  • Ramsholt
  • Rendlesham
  • Saxstead (part)
  • Shottisham 
  • Sudbourne
  • Sutton
  • Sutton Heath
  • Tunstall
  • Ufford
  • Waldringfield
  • Wantisden
  • Wickham Market
  • Woodbridge
Privacy Notice | Powered by Church Edit